Emma on the bike!

2016-05-07 17.35.44

Suck thumb any time, anywhere.

I have been waiting a long time for this – we finally brought Emma out on a bike ride yesterday!

Wynnie and I looked around for bike seats and helmets last year.

We – ok, I – narrowed down our seat choice to a Yepp Mini, which I ended up purchasing from CycleCraft (online with free delivery, Viki provided great service).

Her helmet proved tricky. There are lots of toddler helmets, but most of them were too big for Emma. Granted that we were letting her fit test helmets when she was 6 months old.

I found the Specialized Small Fry Toddler, which is the helmet that has the smallest fit while also having room to grow. The helmet’s colour scheme is called Purple Animals.

My online research also suggested that I only take Emma out on the bike after she turned one. In the mean time, we occasionally tried to get her used to wearing a helmet.

It was an utter disaster.

Emma threw a fit whenever something was placed on her head.

My parents tried to help by letting her wear a hat when she went out in the pram. That took a while for her to get used to.

Her godmother and another friend suggested that we just put her on the bike, plonk the helmet on and hopefully she’ll be enjoying the ride and distracted enough not to notice the helmet.

I didn’t think it would work.

But, as you can see below, it did!

While she didn’t grin madly, I think she enjoyed the novelty and the relative speed of the short bike ride.

We managed to get from our house to Bishan Road.

The video was cut short at the point when Emma started fussing. Not so much because of the ride but because she was tired.

Hopefully, the next time we ride, we will manage to go around Bishan Park a bit.

Baby steps! I mean, baby pedals!

P.S. I have to tighten the straps on the bike seat.

