Clean your keyboard… today

Clean your keyboard. Today.

I apologise for the disturbing photo. Perhaps it is enough to convince you to clean your keyboard.

Otterman mentioned this recently, around the same time that I had other warnings that I should clean my keyboards thoroughly. I was convinced, but I put it off.

Today, I levered out some keys from a spare keyboard that I need to use for photography. Seeing the gunk for myself reminded me that I should get to this sooner rather than later. All the more since I’m recovering from a bad cold. It’s been a week.

My office keyboard definitely needs to be cleaned. So too, my desktop keyboard at home. My MacBook is protected by a silicone sheet, so it’s not that bad. I wouldn’t try popping out the keys of my MacBook anyway.

How often will I have to do this?

I’ve even thought of buying a flexible, washable keyboard. (The price on that website is a rip off though. IIRC you can get it for under that price in Singapore dollars at Funan or Sim Lim shops.)